Connecting over 25 millions NRIs worldwide
Most trusted Name in the NRI media
Asian Excellence Awards- 2008


NRI Press on the red carpet at the 2008 Asian Excellence Awards

Los Angeles, April 24, 2008
NRI press
Mandy Tung

The Asian Excellence Awards is the only annual nationally televised event celebrating the outstanding achievements of Asians and Asian Americans in film, television, music, and the performing arts.

Held on the evening of April 23, 2008 at Royce Hall on the UCLA campus in Los Angeles, we decided to have our reporter Mandy Tung cover the award ceremony because there were seven Indian nominees that included Parminder Nagra, Navi Rawat, Naveen Andrews, Sendhil Ramamurthy, Janina Gavankar, Kal Penn & Padma Lakshmi. Sadly, we didn’t see any of them on the red carpet. Not sure as to the reason why (shy maybe), but hey - at least the evening wasn’t a total bust since we got to meet comedian Russell Peters who was a cohost for the evening.

Our reporter Mandy said, “He is the nicest guy and surprisingly fame hasn’t made his head blow up like we have unfortunately seen with other actors/personalities. Russell Peters was very friendly and the crowd just loved him.” He is a hardworking guy – next up at his sold out shows in Sacramento from April 24-27th.

Also in attendance was Pond’s Femina Miss India-Universe 2006, Neha Kapur from New Delhi. Kapur represented India at the Miss Universe 2006 pageant but failed to become the third Miss Universe from India. After making it to the top 20 she was eliminated in the second round. She was a very pretty girl with a beautiful personality to match.

In addition, the Asian Excellence Awards presented two honorary awards. YouTube co-founder Steve Chen was presented with the Pioneer Award and Olympic Figure-Skating Champion Kristi Yamaguchi received the special Inspiration Award. Quentin Tarrantino presented a special tongue-in-cheek "Half Asian Award" to actor/comedian Rob Schneider.

The Asian Excellence Awards also included such celebrity presenters and attendees as Steven Seagal, Quentin Tarantino, Kelly Hu, Lindsay Price, Sonja Sohn, Verne Troyer, B.D. Wong, Andre Royo, Ian Ziering, Carrie Ann Inaba, Bobby Lee, Jack Yang, Rob Schneider, Daisy Fuentes, Roger Fan, Russell Peters, Devon Aoki, Sharon Leal, Tamlyn Tomita, Bai Ling, Cheryl Burke, Cristián de la Fuente, Se7en, Daisy Fuentes, Will Yun Lee, Michelle Krusiec, Michael Yo, Brenda Song, Rex Lee, Navi Rawat, Jack Yang, Michaela Conlin, James Saito, and Teresa Cheung.
Tune in to see who won on E! Entertainment Television on May 1 at 6 p.m. ET/PT, 5 p.m. CT and will be available on Comcast on Demand, beginning May 7.