Connecting over 25 millions NRIs worldwide
Most trusted Name in the NRI media
NRI Awards


NRIs among the recipients of the Padma awards from President of India

New Delhi, May 11, 2008
Shanti Devi

NRI Madhuri Dixit received the prestigious Padma Shri award on May 10, 2008 from President Pratibha Patil for her outstanding contribution to Indian cinema. She said, "It is a great honour. I am elated."

UK NRI Mittal, steel tycoon, the world's third-richest person, behind Bill Gates and Warren Buffett and Manoj Night Shyamalan Hollywood director also received Padma Shri awards.

US NRI astronaut Sunita Williams did not come to receive the Padam Bhushan.

Ratan Tata, Metroman E Sreedharan, chess wizard Viswanathan Anand, ex-bureaucrat P N Dhar, environmentalist R K Pachauri, ex-Chief Justice of India A S Anand, Melody queen P Susheela, economists Lord Meghnad Desai, Kaushik Basu and Padma Desai also received the Padma Bhushan award.

Sonia Gandhi, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and several ministers attended the prestigious Padma Shri award function.

The Padma Shri is awarded to recognize distinguished service to the nation. The Padma Shri was originally established, in January 1954, as the "Tisra Varg" or "Third Class" of a three-class "Padma Vibhushan" award. This medal was originally described as circular bronze medal, 1-3/8 inches in diameter, with an embossed lotus flower in the center with the legend "Padma Vibhusman" above and a floral wreath below.

Padma Shri also called Padma Shree, Padmashree, Padma Sree and Padma Sri, stands fourth in the hierarchy of civilian awards after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. On its obverse, the words "Padma" and "Shri", in Devanagari, appear above and below the lotus flower. The geometrical pattern on either side is in burnished bronze. All embossing is in white gold.


Padma Shri award